UPDATE: Pay up front (new Patrons only)
🕑 Added 2017-06-01 13:32:29 +0000 UTCHey all, sorry for the second post, but I just found something cool which will affect (some) of you.
Just saw my pledges dip a bit after this month. Nothing that really worries me; most of you kept your pledges which is amazing and great of you all!
But it did occur to me that my extra chapters option can be exploited by people who sign up and then decline to pay at the start of each new month. So I did a google search for about 5 seconds and found...this.
Read if you want, but the short of it is that from now on, people changing pledges or subscribing pay me right when they pledge, rather than after a month.
It shouldn't harm anyone, but it will also get rid of people who just want to exploit the reward system. I'm activating it now, and I'm not sure why it wasn't default on the site. Oh well. Just letting you all know, but it shouldn't affect anyone already pledged!
Comments
Illuminati Games
Awesome
I always wondered if it was technically possible, that people subscribe, get the content and then unsubscribe without paying. Which, in my opionion, is a real a**hole move.
pirateaba
No problem. I can see people who've paid -- I just look at the accounts that are marked 'Fraud' or declined with $0 past contributions...
K. William Klaassen
Oh, hey I only check this site every few days. I had forgotten to put my new card in after my old one expired. No idea how that is showing up on your end. Please understand I am not a mooch.
pirateaba
No...I don't think so. I just changed it today, after everyone got charged, so it shouldn't apply to you since you're already a Patron.
I recently signed up around May 27th or 28th, am I going to be double charged??
It felt wrong finally getting a Patreon account and it not charging upfront while still getting updates. :( atleast it charged today. :)
pirateaba
Added a note at the bottom of the page. Thanks for the suggestion!
Dustin S.
The only thing worth noting is that if people sign up late into the month, they will be charged again at the beginning of the next month; it may be worth adding that info to your overview, so someone doesn't get peeved when they sign up at the $5 a month and then get charged $10 within a couple days because they weren't aware :) Trying to stop those complaints before they happen ...
Poor thing...
Yeah, they should really make that the default option for the site. Good thing you caught it early. :P